The Five-Minute Forums  

Go Back   The Five-Minute Forums > FiveMinute.net > Science Fiction

Old 03-06-2005, 07:56 AM

Default Help Needed Locating The Title Of A Book Please!

I am new to the 5MV forums, although I have been reading and enjoying 5MV for several years now. However, I have decided to post today because it is obvious that as a group of very intelligent peole interested in science fiction, you would be able to help me find the title or author of this book.

The book (or actually it could just be a short story, I actually don't know) is about a man who used to be a motorcyclist or was in a motorcycle accident, who was frozen and then reawakened in the future. In true science fiction fashion, the future is of course very different from what he was used to, specifically because a formula has been developed that eradicated all death from the world. The rest of the book is concerned with how the hero and everone else deals with a world without death. For example, people like the elderly have to volunteer for suicide etc.

Please tell me if you have any idea what the title or who the author of this book is. I would really really really appreciate it.
Old 03-06-2005, 11:08 AM

Sounds a bit like Asimov's "Pebble ib the sky".
Old 03-06-2005, 10:04 PM

Nope. I read all of Asimov's Foundation books and the prequels and it's not Pebble in the Sky. THe book I'm looking for, the person wasn't transported but reawaken from a frozen sleep, and the idea of no death in the world is what drives the book. But, thanks for trying Captain Proton.
Old 03-10-2005, 04:30 PM
He'd enjoy a third pie

Send a message via ICQ to PointyHairedJedi Send a message via AIM to PointyHairedJedi Send a message via Yahoo to PointyHairedJedi

It sounds almost a little like a short story (or two) by AC Clarke, but that couldn't possibly be what you're thinking of.
- Five Minute 24 S1 (it lives, honest!)

"Everybody loves pie!"
- Spongebob Squarepants
Old 03-14-2005, 12:52 AM